Reading List

I just graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with my B.A. in philosophy.  I applied to Biola University for my M.A. in philosophy starting this coming Fall.  If I can’t end up going, then I’ll apply to more universities later in the coming year and hopefully start an M.A. or Ph.D program in 2014.  This means that I have one to three semesters where I can read whatever I want.  Here’s some stuff I’m planning on reading to keep myself up on philosophy.

An Introduction to Contemporary Metaethics by Alex Miller

I was not able to take an ethics class at MU and I’d like to specialize in metaethics in grad school, so I’m going to read this book.

A Contemporary Introduction to Free Will by Robert Kane

I’ve read a lot on the views of free-will and God’s sovereignty in theology, so I figured I’d read a book on the different views of free-will by a philosopher.  It’s very readable and enjoyable.

Socratic Logic: A Logic Text Using Socratic Method, Platonic Questions, and Arisotelian Principles by Peter Kreeft

It’s been a while since I took a class on logic and reasoning and the most recent logic lass I took was on symbolic logic.  I heard this was a good book so I got it.  It’s very readable and it has exercises in it too to test what he teaches in each chapter.

Defending Life: A Moral and Legal Case Against Abortion Choice by Francis Beckwith

I’ve been wanting to read some pro-life literature for a while.  This looked like a good choice.

I’d also like to read the Silmarillion from J.R.R. Tolkien and A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking.

This entry was posted in Personal, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

