50 Questions

I just found this article called Top 50 Questions Christians Can’t Answer.  I will not respond to the individual objections, but I will give some thoughts on the list itself.

Honestly, when he says these are 50 questions Christians “can’t answer”, I am suspicious that he just hasn’t read much Christian philosophy or theology.  Many of the questions he asks do have intelligent answers.  He may or may not be convinced by them in the end, but to say they cannot be answered is going too far.

Some of the questions on the list made me think “OK, I can see why you’d ask that.”  Variations on the problem of evil are some of them.  Some of the questions made me think “Yeah, I don’t know how to answer that, but I’d like to know that myself.”  Question 47 is an example.  Then there are questions that make me think “Are you serious?…” since they show an obvious ignorance of theology.  Questions like 43, 39, 38, 37, 31-33, 30, are good examples.

He could have easily shortened the list too.  Many of the questions on the list are simply variations of the problem of evil.  He could have just asked “Why does God allow evil?” and the list could have been lowered to probably around 40 questions.  I guess asking it multiple times in various forms is more rhetorically powerful though.  The general question of why God allows evil does have possible and intelligent answers that Christians have been considering for centuries.  It may still be mysterious why God allows certain individual instances of evil to happen, but the fact that we don’t know the reason doesn’t mean there isn’t one and the fact that we don’t know the reasons for why the individual instance of evil happens doesn’t mean we don’t know why God would allow evil to exist.

This entry was posted in Apologetics, Philosophy, Problem of Evil, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Questions

  1. Sam Harper says:

    I was just thinking about how Richard Dawkins responds to questions he doesn’t know the answer to. He’ll say something like, “We don’t have the answer to that question yet, but science is working on it.”

    I wonder what atheists would say if we answered, “We don’t have the answer to that question yet, but theologians are working on it.”

Leave a Reply

