Funny Things People Say About My Youthful Appearance

I’m halfway through my 23rd year of life, but most people wouldn’t guess that by looking at me.  Some will even go as far as to say I don’t look old enough to be in college yet!  Roughly 99% of the people at Veritas, the college ministry I attend, are younger than me, but I look like I’m one of the youngest in the whole group.  I’ve heard some people say or ask funny things because of my appearance, so I thought I’d share them here.

One time I was minding my own business at Wal-Mart when a couple of women, both probably beyond middle-aged, came up to me and asked me what 14 year old boys are wearing these days.

One time I was doing volunteer work when this elderly woman asked me if I had a job.  I said I work at Chevys.  She asked me if I needed some kind of signed permission to work there before I’m 16.

A little 5 year old girl at Chevys asked her mom “Why is that little boy working here?”

One time I was walking around the downtown area of Columbia with a group of friends when this drunk guy stopped to ask us for money so he can buy more alcohol.  He said he wouldn’t talk to me because I was the “kid” of the group….  But I was the oldest one there.

There’s just a few stories.  More will come if I think of any.

A picture of me in Jamaica. Technically I’m 22 here, but it still counts!

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funny Things People Say About My Youthful Appearance

  1. As a horrible judge of age myself, I feel for all the people I’ve probably unknowingly offended with similar comments! (or by guessing they’re older than they are) Hey–to look on the bright side, at least when you are “over the hill” you’ll still be rockin’ it with the 20-year-olds.

    -Stephanie

  2. Thank you. I’m typically amused by the comments rather than offended. I like looking young. I’m sure I’d be annoyed by it if I went to bars and nightclubs, but I don’t so that’s not a problem.

  3. Sam Harper says:

    I know how that is. I’ve always looked younger than I am. Women my age won’t go out with me because I look so young, and younger women won’t go out with me because I’m actually so old.

  4. LOL! Actually I don’t know if I’m suppose to laugh at that…. But what’s done is done.

Leave a Reply

